The Obsequious Ones

16 Jan

Dream by Sandra League on December 31, 2002

In my dream I was lying on my bed with my head at the foot of the bed on the side closest to the door. The door was open. My husband was lying next to me, but he was asleep. I opened my eyes. The Lord was kneeling at my bedside to my left. His head slightly bowed. He was dressed in a blue robe, and He wore something white underneath. His head was covered with a turban that was attached to the robe. The material appeared to be terry cloth. His complexion was dark, and His expression was serious. When I looked at Him he began to tell me that a time of testing was coming upon the earth. He told me that the obsequious ones would escape or be preserved and those who were not would not. I asked Him to confirm what He had just told me. He asked me how I wanted Him to confirm it. I then told Him, “By two kisses.” He walked away from me to where He was out of sight, and as I lay there I felt two light impressions just to the left of my mouth and I reached up to touch that spot. I also recall at that moment becoming aware of the ease that I felt with Him. He came back and stood over my bed looking down at me but saying nothing. I awoke with my hand on the place where He kissed me.

Afterwards, I was going about my daily business and periodically I would feel the kisses as a reminder, and when I did I would reach up to touch the place where He had kissed me. I thought that I needed to tell someone, but I couldn’t tell just anyone. I decided I needed to tell Mike Walsh because he would understand. After deciding that, I felt the two kisses again.

Related Scriptures

Because you have kept the word of My perseverance, I also will keep you from the hour of testing, that hour which is about to come upon the whole world, to test those who dwell on the earth. (Rev. 3:10 NASB)

Then Mordecai went out from the presence of the king in royal robes of blue and white, with a large crown of gold and a garment of fine linen and purple; and the city of Susa shouted and rejoiced. (Esther 8:15 NASB)

I put on righteousness, and it clothed me; My justice was like a robe and a turban. (Job 29:14 NASB)

Definitions

ob·se·qui·ous
Pronunciation: &b-'sE-kwE-&s, äb-
Function: adjective
Etymology: Middle English, compliant, from Latin obsequiosus, from obsequium compliance, from obsequi to comply, from ob- toward + sequi to follow
Date: 15th century
: marked by or exhibiting a fawning attentiveness
synonym see SUBSERVIENT
ob·se·qui·ous·ly adverb
ob·se·qui·ous·ness noun

sub·ser·vi·ent
Function: adjective
Etymology: Latin subservient-, subserviens, present participle of subservire
1 : serving to promote some end
2 : useful in an inferior capacity : SUBORDINATE
3 : obsequiously submissive : TRUCKLING
synonyms SUBSERVIENT, SERVILE, SLAVISH, OBSEQUIOUS mean showing or characterized by extreme compliance or abject obedience. SUBSERVIENT implies the cringing manner of one very conscious of a subordinate position <domestic help was expected to be properly subservient>. SERVILE suggests the mean or fawning behavior of a slave <a political boss and his entourage of servile hangers-on>. SLAVISH suggests abject or debased servility <the slavish status of migrant farm workers>. OBSEQUIOUS implies fawning or sycophantic compliance and exaggerated deference of manner <waiters who are obsequious in the presence of celebrities&gt.

